CEIHC > News Posts > XVII edition of the Brazilian Symposium on Human Factors in Computational Systems (IHC 2018)

In October 2018, from 22 to 26, the 17th edition of the Brazilian Symposium on Human Factors in Computational Systems (IHC 2018) was held in Belém. The event attracted more than 300 participants, including professors, undergraduate and graduate students, and industry professionals. The event was sponsored by NIC.BR, CGI.BR, CAPES, CNPq, PROPESP-UFPA and Balsamiq; and supported by IBM Research, SIGCHI, ACM in cooperation, Rosenfeld, Axure and Group A Education.

The local organization was under the responsibility of Professors Marcelle Mota and Bianchi Serique of the Federal University of Pará. In the scientific organization, those responsible were Professor Raquel Prates (UFMG) and researcher Heloisa Candello (IBM Research).

Summary in numbers:

  • Complete articles: 42
  • Summarized articles: 12
  • Minicourses: 7
  • Workshop: 1
  • Integration and Discussion Forum – IHC and Collaborative Systems: 7
  • Evaluation Competition: 5
  • IHC Education Workshop (WEIHC): 11
  • IHC in practice: 6
  • Virtual Posters: 8
  • Traditional Posters: 13
  • Thesis and Dissertations Workshop at IHC (WTD-IHC): 6

Figure 1 is a view of the institutions from which IHC 2018 participants are affiliated. It is possible to observe an intense participation of UFPA and the UFC.

Figure 1. Institutions of the participants of the event

Figura 1. Instituições dos participantes do evento

Figura 2. Abertura do IHC 2018

Among the highlights of the event, we can highlight the guest lectures and the panel. There were three Keynote Speakers: Victoria Bellotti (Lyft), Kristina Höök (KTH), and Virgílio Almeida (Berkman Klein Center at Harvard University / UFMG). In addition, we had a panel on Social Responsibility and Ethics addressing a retrospective of 20 years of the event and research related to IHC in Brazil, in which invited speakers, senior researchers from the community, winners of the IHC Career Featured Award of CEIHC: Clarisse S. de Souza (PUC-Rio) and Maria Cecília C. Baranauskas (UNICAMP).